The Dreaded Buttercream…

Is it strange that I’ve decided to live a Paleo-lifestyle while still baking cakes made with flour, sugar, milk, butter, eggs, and buttercream made with butter, powdered sugar, and solidified vegetable shortening?  I think it is–and obviously, after only 2 days eating clean, so did my body.  Yes, I did partake of the buttercream frosting, but only to taste it to make sure it was of the right consistency and flavor.  Yes, I had to taste it a few times because it was just not right.  Then I realized that it was probably me because it tasted WAY too sweet.  I had my son come taste it and he said it was fine.

So, I started frosting the cake I made yesterday and suddenly a twinge in my stomach.  Then, horrible cramps, and I had to run to the ladies room!  Yes, that’s right, folks–the buttercream made me SICK!  It literally had me doubled over.  If I ever had a reason not to eat a piece of cake with buttercream frosting again (other than the fact that it adds one more dimple to my fat ass and clogs my arteries), that was it.  Yowza.

Anyway, another day down.  I slept great last night–Van even slept in his own bed like a big boy, so the only “person” I had to share with was Buttercup, my sweet little puppy.  Thankfully she doesn’t like to be too close, so I had plenty of room to stretch out.  I had a great breakfast of leftover Rotisserie Chicken and avocado, and made my lunch– Shredded cabbage and sliced red bell peppers topped with a can of albacore tuna, sea salt & pepper, and drizzled with toasted sesame oil and lemon juice.  Yum… makes me hungry just writing it.

Tonight I get to have sausages and veggies at my friend, Nola’s, house and I get to meet her hubby, who’s home from Afghanistan.  It will probably really make me miss my husband, but that’s okay.  He’s only a phone call or email away.

So third day in… I’m feeling pretty confident and happy I’ve made this change.

Fat 2 Fit Cavewoman, signing out.

Leave a Reply

